SPEED RACER.

“Go Speed Racer, Go Speed Racer, Go Speed Racer go….”  Growing up (like I have finished), the Speed Racer cartoon was my favorite.  Wow, I would watch every episode. The excitement of Speed, Racer X, Sparky, the monkey, etc. was for me adventure in everyday.  That’s what I call the simple life: TV in the 70’s.   

As I recall while reflecting upon my life, I acquired an “addiction to speed.” By speed, I mean the rate at which I fly and move through life; not “speed” like the drug.  But honestly, I have acted so impatiently at times, it may have appeared that I  was drugged up.  I have missed so many opportunities and memories because I was there, but not there.  All I wanted to do is finish my list and get to the next event.  I used to hurry to do nothing.  As the saying goes, “Speed kills.”  Speed sure can kill times with God, times with love ones, and times of being used by the Holy Spirit. 

By growth and becoming fully present, I have learned (and still am learning) to SLOW DOWN and obey the speed limits- the God set ones, the natural ones, and the traffic ones (well, that’s an area of struggle).  

ENJOY THE JOURNEY!!! This has been a personal motto of mine for over 5 years.  I have learned to call TIME OUT and hit PAUSE.  Making this principle a part of my life, I have enjoyed more times with my wife; enjoyed more of my girl’s games and school concerts; enjoyed bed time prayers, enjoyed more sunrises; and enjoyed more of our immediate family’s soup picnics. 

So it is time to HURRY UP and stop doing some things.  Engage in what counts!  3 reminders: Enjoy Family, Enjoy Friends, and Enjoy the Walk of Faith. – Larry

Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still, and know that I am God.”   It’s a “Walk of Faith.”  

2 Responses to SPEED RACER.

  1. Brandon Chappell says:

    Man, I understand every bit of that. Life seems to pass you up and at the time you want it too. but when you look back and say “man, i wish i could have done that” it puts it in a different perspective. People can’t take for granted the things of life…they teach us what we are doing right or in some cases what we are doing wrong. but keep up the great work pastor larry

  2. Tara says:

    Hey Pastor Larry,

    AWESOME post! Great 3 reminders.
    I am following you on Twitter – I couldn’t figure out how to say hello and remind you of who I am so I found your blog. I go to Victory & work with SRT doing all their follow-up. See ya around!

    Take care,

    Tara Monahan

Leave a Reply

