TWISTER!

TWISTER! You played the Twister board game before?  Just a few days ago I was playing Twister with my two little daughters, 8 and 10 (my two teenaged girls no longer think it’s cool to play twister with dad…life is going by too fast).  We were having fun, well they were having fun, I was just enjoying laughing and playing with them- truthfully it gets painful having to squat down in crazy stances for a long time.  So, I caused myself to fall and just become the spinner (that’s freedom for me).  Next, my one daughter leg-pushed the other one down, and then I heard, “Why did you do that stupid?”  All right, no major crime, but a poor choice of words.  Next, came time for the “daddy” life-lesson.

Psalm 19:14 >>>May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, 
O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

The game, Twister takes no account for our mouth. The words of our mouth are related to the area of our “self-control quotation.”  Many times, I have let my words fly off and cause damage. I am learning to be careful with all my words. Most times I succeed, and other times, I need to re-examine and repent. 

WORDS coming forth from our mouths can:  1) HURT, 2) HEAL, 3) HELP, or bring 4) HOPE.  Make it a point to cause your words to be be full of life and lift others up.  Be thoughtful in the placement of your words, just like in the twister game, or you’ll come crashing down on someone you love.   Larry

 

2 Responses to TWISTER!

  1. Angela Kirby says:

    Hey PL! I’m so glad you started blogging. Thanks for the reminder on the power of words. Looking forward to reading more!

  2. Christy says:

    I’m a teacher. It’s nice to hear that Dad’s are still playing Twister with their kids and using scripture to help them realize the power of their words.

Leave a Reply

